Feel the Fear

ladygaga2

I’m doing a series of paintings of Lady Gaga, here is the second painting which resembles her better than the last one.  I’m enjoying the process and I’m just having fun with it.

This weekend I went to a fun resort with the family and this place had many waterslides.  My boys begged me to join them but I refused.  I have a fear of waterslides.  The reason; as a child, I was going down a water slide and at the bottom got the wind kicked right out of me.  Another person was coming down the slide and ran right into me as I was getting out of the pool.  That was the last time I went down a waterslide.

The second day my boys asked me again to go down that slide and I reluctantly joined them.  Feel the fear and do it anyway, right??  I did and it felt so invigorating! They wanted me to try another slide and this one was too much for me, it was inclosed, too claustrophobic for me.  My nine year old looked me in the eyes and said, “face your fears mom”.  Guess what?  I did.  They got a laugh out of  me screaming all the way down the slide and it made me laugh as well.  Best of all, we bonded.

Where am I going with all of this?  I want to challenge myself.  I am going to commit myself to 100 days of painting, drawing, etc.. whatever inspires me.  I have always feared committing  to my work. When I get frustrated with my art work, I quit and don’t touch it for a month or so.  I know it sounds insane but I have to do it.  I will keep you posted on both my success and failure.  How do you learn if you don’t fail?  Right?  What do you fear the most?

Leave a Reply

