Detachment

JulieDay 11 of 100 days of painting..

“Detachment is the quality that enables a person to feel unmoved by either loss or gain.  It means being passionate about your work but dispassionate about its rewards.  Trusting in yourself, not what you accomplish, is the key to success.  Put yourself in the hands of the universe-then you have no need for control.  Self-acceptance leads to success, not the other way around.”  This is all an excerpt from a book I am reading called The Seven Spiritual Laws for Parents by Deepak Chopra.  

Coincidentally enough I was reading this right before I went into my car this morning with my son and we both noticed the pungent stench of cigarettes.  I felt uneasy sitting in my car and I looked around to figure out what was different.  I opened my glove compartment and found that my iPod mini and prescription sunglasses were missing.  My son was shocked that someone would steal anything from us.  A very teachable moment for me and my son.   I explained to him that those are all material things that can be replaced.  I was very upset and I felt sick to my stomach…. I felt violated.  Not only did this man steal our things but he smoked a cigarette in our car while doing it!  How could someone do this to us?  What is wrong with this world?  

I read the lines above from the book again and let it all sink in.  I realized this all relates to where I am right now in my life.  My need for approval by others, my need to have everyone tell me how great my work is.  The truth is, it has to come from me, no one else.   “Self-acceptance leads to success, not the other way around.”  My lesson here is to detach from all outcomes in life and just trust in the universe.  

The one person who has always been there to help me do that is the young lady in the painting above.  The mixed media/acrylic painting I did above is of a dear friend of mine named Julie Zeff.  When Julie smiles, she lights up a room.  She has this energy and beautiful aura to her that I tried to recreate in this painting.  She is an amazing life coach  and yoga instructor.  Julie has coached me in the past and I have benefited in many ways from her class.  When I first met her I knew there was something special about her and that I would learn so much from Julie.  She is the one who planted the seed of having my own career and pursuing my passion in art.  I have been trying really hard to stop those Ogres inside my head Julie;).  I hope you like the painting and that it brightens your day.  Love, Sheryl.

If you want to find out more about Julie, visit her website at julie@vividliving.net.

4 comments on “Detachment

  1. juliezeff says:

    That is amazing!!! You rock!!

    Thank you so much! So, so touching and sweet!! So beautiful!!

    The journey you are on is so amazing – the painting, the living, the being… Car break-in and all! I’ve been there and that feeling sucks! It happened to us shortly after we moved to Atlanta. So crazy and violating and it just stinks! Glad you are all safe and it was just “things”.

    And, know you are safe and whole, and creative and fully resourceful no matter what happens to you or in the world around you!

    You are such a beautiful light and inspiration!!

    Love you so much!!!

    Thank you!

    XOXO

    J

    Julie Zeff, MSW, CPCC

    Vivid Living

    http://www.vividliving.net

    619.818.6917

    julie@vividliving.net

    Helping stressed and tired moms live vivid lives they love!

    Request my FREE Report Top 10 Tips to Vivid Living at: http://www.vividliving.net

    Get a copy of my book – Vivid Living for Busy Moms: Coach Yourself to an Extraordinary Life here – https://www.createspace.com/3581207

    To sign-up for the Free Vivid Living Tidbit full of tips and tools to get you living your vivid and extraordinary life today click here: http://www.vividliving.net

    Like

  2. DonnaBMeir says:

    I am so so so sorry you guys had to deal with that awful feeling of being violated. Whyy you gotta be so ruuude?! In all seriousness, though, yes those things can be replaced, and thank god you are all safe. Love you.

    Like

Leave a comment