Balance, really?

muchacha Day 56 of 100 days of painting

“Real courage is being able to step out and live that dream. That’s really the only courage you ever need.”Oprah 

This week I felt overwhelmed by all the demands of life and trying to get my painting time to myself.  I felt like I was losing myself.  I would skip lunch, forget to run certain errands and I neglected my husband and kids.  I feel so passionate about art but at the same time I don’t want to lose myself to it.

How do we manage to balance everything in life and not lead that double life?  How do we merge everything together so there is unity and harmony. When we try to lead two different lives it causes more of a headache and disharmony in you and everyone around you.  So I decided to put myself on a schedule and only paint when my kids are at school and when my husband is at work.  Does it always work?  No, but I’m trying.  Where is there an imbalance in your life, how can you bring back that harmony?

As women, we put a lot of pressure on ourselves to look pretty and put together while managing the kids, work, cleaning up after everyone, etc.. What I have also learned through painting women is that women posses something so special, the ability to create life.  Woman are powerful beings.  We give birth, are nurturers, hold down a job, take care of a household and we are amazing at multitasking.  Plus, we sure know how to seduce a man with our beauty and wit (that’s what I would like to think anyway).

I read this in an Oprah magazine, “Our culture does belittle women who cannot be both professional high-achievers and traditional moms. It questions the devotion of women who attempt to combine the two roles. My conclusion? Balance, schmalance. Trying to establish a harmonious equilibrium between our society’s definition of What a Woman Should Be is like trying to resolve the tension between two hostile enemies by locking them in.” Why a Balanced Life is Overated by Martha Beck.  I laughed when I read this because it is so true!!  Here we are as women trying to have it all but it is nearly impossible especially when you want to have that “balance”.

Soooooo, my conclusion: DO what works best for you.  I am a stay-at-home mom with an art career on the side.  Right now, my focus is on my kids and family.  The rest is just extra that brings me enjoyment and a little extra cash.  Later on it may shift as my kids grow older.  If you are a working professional, a woman out there making it for herself, more power to you!  If you are both a  mother and you go to work, good.  It’s all good!  Just learn to take it easy on yourself, you women out there are amazing!!  I am woman, hear me roar..or meow:).

One comment on “Balance, really?

  1. Bob Benjy says:

    I love this painting. So beautiful. Wow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

