Courage and strength

yrmaDay 68 of my 100 days of painting

“I love those who can smile in trouble, who can gather strength from distress, and grow brave by reflection. ‘Tis the business of little minds to shrink, but they whose heart is firm, and whose conscience approves their conduct, will pursue their principles unto death.” -Leonardo da Vinci

Usually I write my blog every Wednesday but I skipped last week.  I had too much on my plate and I needed to take a break.  I decided I would enjoy painting instead.  I am trying to put less pressure on myself to do everything, I am pacing myself to do what I can…. when I can.

The next series I am painting is devoted to my dear friend Yrma.  Our boys became best friends at school and we started to bond.  I always looked up to Yrma because she has this beauty and strength I always admired about her. A couple months ago, she was diagnosed with breast cancer.  I have never seen  a woman be so brave and resilient.  Everytime I would see her she had a smile on her face, like in my painting above.  Yrma told me that she would get through it and be fine but I didn’t expect her to have such a positive attitude.  I saw her at her worst but she kept on going and she held her head up high through the whole process.

A few months ago she finished her chemo and radiation treatment.  The painting above is right before her treatment.  In the upcoming weeks I will show her transformation.  The only thing that changed in the pictures was the fact that her hair was getting shorter and eventually it would all be shaved off.  Yrma still had that amazing aura of strength and endurance.  She was radiant with hair and even more radiant without.  I asked her if it would be ok if I painted her bald and she didn’t skip a beat, she replied “Yes!”.  Most women would be too embarrassed or vain, hair is such an important part of being a woman.

Yrma’s amazing energy and grace through this ordeal has inspired me to have a gallery showing at my house in her honor. I will also be done with my 100 days of painting!  So it will be quite a celebration.  I am having a fundraiser/gallery showing for breast cancer research, November 22nd.  I want to celebrate her strength, courage and most of all her life.  Thank you Yrma for being an inspiration to me and I’m sure many others.  I hope my painting did you justice.  Love, Sheryl.

November 3rd Deepak Chopra is starting another FREE 21 day mediation on The Energy of Attraction, please try it out at chopracentermeditation.com.

One comment on “Courage and strength

  1. Leyla says:

    Absolutely beautiful! Looking forward to your event, can’t wait 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

