Eye of the Storm

Yrmabald91 of my 100 days of painting

There is beauty and serenity in the eye of the storm. – jlh

“The Eye-of-the-Storm. Surrounded by the winds and the rain, yet peaceful in its own unworldly way – an unnatural ruddy-cloudy misty-bright kind of way. Whatever comes next, the eye of the storm is a moment of serenity among the challenge – a time for repose and contemplation.”

What happens when so many challenges get thrown our direction?  Do we run the other way or face them with strength and resilience?  Sometimes life gets so overwhelming that we can no longer function and really know what the right direction is to take.  The storm hits, then we wait for the calm waters.  The painting above is of my friend Yrma right after all her chemo treatments.  Her hair has grown back now that she is in remission.  When I spoke to her last she told me she had to have a biopsy on a mole she had on her chest to make sure it wasn’t cancerous.  Luckily it came out benign.  She then found out that she has to have surgery to remove her gallbladder, they found some kind of lump on it.  So tomorrow she is going in for surgery.  Through it all she has STILL remained strong.  How many things can one person handle??  Hopefully my friend will experience the calm after this.  I wish her health, happiness and love throughout her life.  Nothing in life is more important than our health!!

I am almost done with my 100 days of painting, I will still continue painting even after the 100 days.  Will I do it everyday, who knows?  A good habit is hard to break…  It feels good to commit to something and follow through!  That has been the most challenging obstacle in my life, to commit to any one thing.  Now I see how it feels and I love it!

Today is day 3 of Deepak Chopra’s Energy of Attraction meditation, its free!   Just go to chopracentermeditation.com to register.

5 comments on “Eye of the Storm

  1. My dear Sheryl it has been an honor to be part of your paintings and I can’t thank you enough for being part of the upcoming event on November 22nd. 2014 has been a challenging year for me since the beginning of the year when my dad at 90 years-old had to undergo surgery in January to remove a blood clot followed by my diagnosis in February after we came back from a beautiful family reunion wedding in Punta Cana.
    How could I ever think I would be diagnosed with Invasive Ductal Adenocarcinoma, breast cancer stage 1, since I led a very healthy life style of eating the right food and exercising regularly???? I had a biopsy in my right breast where I felt three lumps but still thinking it was not cancer.
    I still remember the phone call from my dear Dr. Brian Kinney with the news; he was in shock as much as I was. I didn’t cry or got depressed I just wanted to have it out of my body. I decided to undergo a double mastectomy and it was the best decision since the pathological results after the surgery showed I had atypical cells on the left breast. When I met with my oncologist, Dr. Shaum, she told me that I was borderline to get chemotherapy. I had to make a decision whether to have it or not. My dear friend Lilly LeMaster called his Oncologist friend in Florida and with his help he was able to present my case to a panel of doctors and the recommendations were for me to have chemotherapy and radiation to give me the best chance of survival. I was lucky to have my dear sister Pilar to come from Peru to take care of me during my recovery post surgery, my friend Lilly LeMaster to accompany me to my chemotherapy treatments and my step daughter Megan to give me emotional support. I couldn’t have done it without my sister, my friends, my son, my husband, parents from my son’s school, friends from my childhood and the support of all my family in Los Angeles and in Florida.
    My body feels weak after all the treatments and the last surgery to remove my gallbladder, but my spirit is strong and I feel thankful to be alive and I have a very different perspective in life. It has been a growing experience to make me a better person and grow spiritually. I love live more than ever!!!!

    Like

  2. what a beautiful art work!!!
    great job!

    Like

  3. Reynaldo Sanchez says:

    What a beautiful painting! My friend Yrma I have known you for such a long time well over 15 years, We have worked together and traveled together. I have always admired your strength and determination,. This paitning captures your soul and vitality. Hope to see you in the event, and meet your friend who has captured your Peruvian Goddess Spirit. Congrats Ms. Sheryl. Besos mi Chepa!!
    Rey

    Like

Leave a Reply

