Such a High

monetocean

“Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy.” ~Dale Carnegiehelicopter2

In my last post I committed myself to doing the things that I fear.  I have a fear of heights, my husband does as well.   So I decided to surprise him for his birthday and take him out on a little adventure.  I looked up the best places to go to experience an amazing helicopter ride.  We are not super adventurous people so this was a big deal for us.  I found really good reviews on http://www.Elitehelicoptertours.com, they were very professional and I really recommend them if you ever decide to do this yourself.  I called and made a reservation.  I decided to do the 30 minute Malibu tour.

helicopter

“Somebody should tell us…right at the start of our LIVES…that we are dying. Then we might live to the limit, every minute of every day. Do it! I say. Whatever you want to do, do it now! There are only so many tomorrows.” ~Michael Landon

As we were driving there I was pretty nervous.  I got there an hour earlier and my husband, Bob, was very happy when he saw all the planes.  He said it was on of the best gifts anyone has ever given him, awwwww…All I can say about the whole experience is “WOW!”.  It was stunning, captivating, just gorgeous!  The sky was so clear because it had rained two days prior and as we were going over the Santa Monica pier over the shimmering ocean, I realized the beauty that we are surrounded by.  We are always too distracted by work, kids, errands, etc… to really appreciate all the loveliness around us.   I took in every moment of that ride.  I included the painting above because it reminded me of the water that we hovered over.

When I look back at the pictures I regret even taking them because they took away from my experience.  Pictures or video can never replicate everything that is in front of you in that moment.

The whole point of starting with conquering heights is to get a different view of life, to show that I am capable of soooooo much more than I realize.  Life is full of so many possibilities and we stop ourselves because of this thing called FEAR.  So let go and find something that makes your heart beat a little faster and gives you that extra boost of adrenaline.  See how it can change your life and see the possibilities that lie ahead.  Honestly, it was the best high ever!  I will never forget that experience.  I’m not sure what I will do next, to be continued…for now I will keep on painting.

Leave a Reply

