What’s your resolution?

friendspicasso

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.

Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.

So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.

Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.

Make your mistakes, next year and forever.”
― Neil Gaiman

I love this quote, I think it sums it up for me, how about you?  Do you believe in New Year’s resolutions? If so, what’s yours?  I am still working on my fear of doing things.  I overcame a few these past few weeks, they are too personal so I can’t reveal much.  I can only tell you that it felt good to get things off my chest and not be afraid to tell people how I feel and to set boundaries.  Especially those I really love like my dear mom.  Love you mom!

The painting I did above represents friendship and having that special relationship.  I honestly don’t know what I would do without them.  They pick you up in your hardest times and lift you up when you need that extra boost.  They are the best, greatest, most amazing support systems, especially the good ones.  Besides my wonderful husband a good friend is always a valuable asset.  Especially when you have kids…

My next goal is to get my work out there and not be afraid to do it.  I’m ready to make my mistakes and learn a great deal from them!  So I hope you go out there as well and do the things that you fear most and push yourself just a little more to achieve whatever your heart desires.

Leave a Reply

