Love in all forms

mothers sorrow“I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where. I love you simply, without problems or pride: I love you in this way because I do not know any other way of loving but this, in which there is no I or you, so intimate that your hand upon my chest is my hand, so intimate that when I fall asleep your eyes close.”
― Pablo Neruda, 100 Love Sonnets

Valentine’s day is right around the corner, I always saw it as another day to sell hallmark cards.  It was also a day for restaurants too charge way to much for the same food.  But as a young girl I always wanted someone to send me flowers on that day or a love note.  It was a day of disappointment because there were times where nothing would happen on that day, except for a sweet card from my mom.  When my husband came along all that changed but these days I don’t have any expectations on that day, except for my See’s Candy!

These days it has become about the love I have for my family and what that means to me.  I expressed this in the painting above which is inspired by Gustav Klimt, one of my favorite artists.  I used gold leaf in her tears and in her hair, gold to me represents so many things.  Love, empowerment, strength, something we all possess if we dig deep enough.  Sometimes we love so much that it brings us to tears.  The painting can represent so many things, the love of a mother, the love a girlfriend or wife.  It’s a little bit of sadness and happiness mixed into one, because love can be beautiful yet heart breaking.

When I see my children grow and know someday they will leave and go off on their own… it breaks my heart.  When I see my children laugh and enjoy the time we spend together …it makes my heart smile.  When my husband is happy and we are out on a date alone…my heart is happy.  When I see my sister smile and live the life she desires… it makes my heart content.  When I see my mom live the life she was always meant to live…it makes my heart be at peace.  When I see the kids playing with their grandparents and grandpa is painting my daughters nails… it makes my heart sing.  When I paint….it makes my heart beat with all the love in the world that pulses through my veins onto canvas.

What does love mean to you?

One comment on “Love in all forms

  1. Donna M. says:

    I love, love, love, love, love, love this gorgeous painting! But it also makes me a bit sad when I look at it. Sheryl, you’ve evoked such strong emotions in this image, and it’s simply mesmerizing. PS…Please take a picture for me the next time Grandpa is painting your daughter’s nails!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

