60 Day Challenge

oceandreams

“Every time I stand before a beautiful beach, its waves seem to whisper to me: If you choose the simple things and find joy in nature’s simple treasures, life and living need not be so hard.” -Psyche Roxas-Mendoza

I have two amazing friends that I went to high school with and we all lived in a town very close to the beach.  After we all got married we each moved to a different city and/or state.  But every time we meet, we always seem to find our place by the ocean.  It allows us to relax with our kids, talk about life, connect with one another and take in the beautiful scenery and fresh air.  We all also want our children to have that connection to nature, especially the sea.  It’s where we call home and it always will be.

That is why I am going to paint for 60 days and they will be paintings about nature.  We all need to connect more with nature, whether its the beach, mountains,  rivers, lakes or even the local park.  Challenging myself also allows me to grow as a person and an artist.  Painting people is a lot easier for me but if I keep doing the same thing over and over again, I will not open my eyes to new experiences.   What is something challenging for you in your life right now?  It could be something related to work, a new project, or about friend or family member.  I challenge you to go for a walk and not look at your phone and to just pay attention to all the nature surrounding you.  The busy little bee, the gorgeous spring flowers, the green grass (maybe not so much with the drought here in California;( ).  I challenge you to look deep inside yourself to see where you need to grow in your life. Not where your husband, wife, sister, mother or friend needs to grow, but where you need to grow.  We can learn a lot from that busy little bee.

What does any of this have to do with art?  Art is an expression of the soul and whenever I express myself painting, I end up finding out a lot about myself.  Everyone has a different way of expressing themselves, I hope you have your own creative outlet, everyone should.  For now, take a deep breath and know that everything will be alright and that life is good.  Don’t forget to try out Deepak Chopra’s 21 day free meditation going on now. http://www.chopracentermeditation.com

Leave a Reply

