Stop and smell the roses..

roses

“One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us tend to put off living. We are all dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon instead of enjoying the roses that are blooming outside our windows today.”

-Dale Carnegie

It’s been 37 days of nature inspired paintings.  23 days left!  On my walk back home today, I noticed a beautiful little dove in front of my rose garden, just hanging out peacefully.  I thought it was so sweet,  I just stood there for a moment enjoying it’s beauty and calmness.  I wish I possessed the qualities that this dove had.   Some days I really do and other days not so much.  Sometimes we get caught up in the rat race of life and forget to notice the simple things in life.  We take too much for granted.  We get stressed and our temper rises and then we lose all control over our emotions.  We are no longer centered.

The painting above symbolizes taking time to stop and look at nature and everything that it offers.  When was the last time you stopped and actually smelled a rose?  My roses are in full bloom right now and when I smell them, I get a little taste of what heaven might be like.  Another piece of heaven for me was on a beautiful family retreat this past weekend where we all connected with nature, it was heart warming to see my kids thrive in such an environment.  Not only were they exposed to a lot of amazing people but to animals, plants, rocks and sticks.  The simple life really is the way.  Even though I live in a pretty busy city, I manage to make my own haven and expose my children to as much nature as possible.  In the long run material objects only bring us so much happiness.  Think about what makes you smile and how nature has inspired you.

I will conclude with the quote below, when was the last time you gave your loved one a rose, not for any special occasion, but just because you love them….

“Mom and Dad were married 64 years. And if you wondered what their secret was, you could have asked the local florist – because every day Dad gave Mom a rose, which he put on her bedside table. That’s how she found out what happened on the day my father died – she went looking for him because that morning, there was no rose.”

Mitt Romney
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/m/mittromney447816.html#04ZrPgQvX4rez1wf.99

Leave a Reply

