To all the MOMS

motherlove2

“Mama was my greatest teacher, a teacher of compassion, love and fearlessness. If love is sweet as a flower, then my mother is that sweet flower of love.”
-Stevie Wonder

I don’t think there is anything more beautiful than a new mom breastfeeding her newborn.  Although it is one of the most challenging things I have ever encountered with my first born it was also very rewarding.  Even if a mother cannot breastfeed her child and decides to bottle feed, that is ok too.  I remember calling another mom when I just had my son because I was exhausted from trying to breastfeed, he just couldn’t latch on.  I asked her if she bottle-feed or gave formula to her son and her answer was “Oh no!”.  That made me feel so sad because I felt like I was failing my child.  But if someone told me that in the long run, it doesn’t really matter and what matters is that the child receives love and more love… I may have been more relaxed about it.

I paint whatever I am experiencing and going through in my life right now and one of them is motherhood.  I think it is the most challenging job I have ever had in my life.  It can be rewarding and frustrating at the same time.  Once that child comes out they are dependent on you for many years to come and at first it is so overwhelming.  All I can tell new mothers is to take it one day at a time.

I hope my painting shows the love and bond between a mother and a child, I remember having all the happy hormones just pulsing through my veins when I held each of my children for the first time.  I poured all those feelings into this one painting, the feeling of love, tenderness, comfort, joy and serenity.  SO this is to honor all the beautiful amazing moms out there!  You are wonderful and powerful creatures that are changing the world one child at a time.  Keep shining your amazing gold light on your children and don’t punish yourselves for not being perfect, perfection does not exist.  Motherhood is a work in progress, so let’s embrace that.

Leave a Reply

