A love affair with INSPIRATION

waveswaves2waves3

“Creativity is sacred, and it is not sacred.  What we make matters enormously, and it doesn’t matter at all.  We toil alone, and we are accompanied by spirits.  We are terrified, and we are brave.  Art is a crushing chore and a wonderful privilege.  The work wants to be made, and it wants to be made through you.”  

I fell in love with the quote above after reading a book by Elizabeth Gilbert called Big Magic, she also wrote Eat Pray Love.  There are so many quotes in the book that I would love to use and I have marked many pages to go back to them.  Her book has inspired me in so many ways that one day while I was walking by the beach I stopped everything and took out a pen and piece of paper and wrote this down…

I have a love affair with inspiration.  Sometimes it leaves me stranded, alone, confused and a little heartbroken.  Then whoosh, it appears out of no where, right before my eyes in the form of a person, a scenery, a painting or a picture.  It can just be an image in my mind that I have to put on canvas before it leaves me again.  Like a thunderstorm, inspiration shows up, a lightning of creative energy flows through me and channels open up.  It’s raining…no, pouring and then it all stops and it is clear.  I am left with the still shimmery waters and small waves to look at.  The tsunami of inspiration is gone and I am again your victim, waiting again for inspiration to come back and take over and pour all that creativity energy into me and through me.  I am merely a vessel, a channel that you work through to express yourself.  Inspiration, you had me at hello….

A little dramatic?  Maybe…but that is how I felt at that moment and I caught it before it left me.  So whenever you are feeling inspired, stop for a moment and feel it in every core of your body….then take action!  The painting I did above represents everything I just wrote about inspiration.  The storm, the waves and then the calm that comes after.

Leave a Reply

