How creativity can heal…

color-painting

“Experiencing sadness or anger can make you feel more creative and by being creative, you can get beyond your pain or negativity.” -Yoko Ono

I came to a realization last week,  there is something very powerful and healing in the process of creating.   After my cousin suddenly and so tragically passed away, I decided to lock myself in my studio and paint his portrait.  In that very moment, I began to heal myself through each and every brushstroke, the wounds began to slowly close.  It didn’t happen over night of course, I painted away for a week.  I am still healing but that was one step for me to get past the pain and feel his soul and see the bigger picture.

Life offers us many obstacles sometimes and we need tools to help us through them.  I don’t know what you do in order to overcome such challenges but I urge you to find that creative outlet, whatever it may be.  My friend told me about a 95 year-old patient of hers who (after her husband passed away) got so bored that she decided to start painting.  She found out that she had this artist inside of her waiting to come out…at the age of 95!  My friend loved one of her paintings so much she bought one and it is hanging in her office.  You never know what jewels are hidden inside of you until you try.  SO go out there and create something magical…. sew it, draw it, color it. Whatever that heals your heart and soul is what you need to focus on.  Then tell me all about it!

 

3 comments on “How creativity can heal…

  1. Hi Sheryl,
    when i get the chance to log in to social net, I try to read most of your posts, I enjoy and learn from them,
    but this particular post has been in my head since i read it the first time,
    it’s so nice and simple but powerful and deep as well., it did really touch me and helped me.
    I feel identified in some ways with some of the passages of your story…. You are right: Art heals, Art helps the spirit let the the heavy luggage go.
    I am so glad that you are still paining, I knew at Culver City Art Show that you are a great person, a person of Light,, congratz for having great children, great husband and great friends. Congratz for the 100 days of Painting! Congratz for creating awesome art! …thanks for sharing it on the blog and for sharing your thoughts.

    best regards,
    Eduardo Bonilla

    p.s. i wanted to comment since the first day, but I decided to post it until I had finisedh a painting that I had been procrastinated and this post cheered me to get accomplished.
    today the painting has been finished.
    my appreciation again Sheryl

    Like

  2. Hi Sheryl,
    when i get the chance to log in to social net, I try to read most of your posts, I enjoy and learn from them,
    but this particular post has been in my head since i read it the first time,
    it’s so nice and simple but powerful and deep as well., it did really touch me and helped me.
    I feel identified in some ways with some of the passages of your story…. You are right: Art heals, Art helps the spirit let the the heavy luggage go.
    I am so glad that you are still paining, I knew at Culver City Art Show that you are a great person, a person of Light,, congratz for having great children, great husband and great friends. Congratz for the 100 days of Painting! Congratz for creating awesome art! …thanks for sharing it on the blog and for sharing your thoughts.

    best regards,
    Eduardo Bonilla

    p.s. i wanted to comment since the first day, but I decided to post it until I had finished a painting that I had been procrastinated and this post cheered me to get accomplished.
    today the painting has been finished.
    my appreciation again Sheryl

    Liked by 1 person

    • sherylkb says:

      Hi Eduardo!
      Thank you for your lovely comment, it made my day! I love your painting and the softness and emotions it conveys, I’m so happy you completed it and I inspired you in some way. Please keep in touch and keep up the great work!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

