Don’t let perfection ruin your new year!

FullSizeRender-12.jpg

“For all my friends in the media who like quotes, mark this quote down. From this day on I’d like to be known as ‘The Big Aristotle’ because Aristotle once said, ‘Excellence is not a singular act; it’s a habit. You are what you repeatedly do.”- Shaquille O’Neal

I was once at my friend’s house, and she had a painting she created hanging up.  Only one.  I asked her where the other ones were.  She said she no longer bothered painting.  I asked her why….she answered, “I’m too much of a perfectionist and it just drives me crazy”.  That made me so sad.  Here was this talented young lady who really made a “perfect” painting.  But that “perfectionism” killed her art, it killed her inspiration, it killed a future filled with magic, creativity and growth.

 Don’t let that happen to you this coming year with a million resolutions.  One thing I learned from my experience of painting 100 paintings in 100 days (I’m halfway through, yay!), is to let go of perfection.  It really is about taking it a day at a time, whether you are going on a diet, starting to exercise or a new hobby.  You will not lose weight overnight or be the most athletic or talented person the world has ever seen after a few weeks of trying.  It’s all about taking baby steps. 

The picture above is of me painting away while on vacation with my family.  When I signed up for the 100 day challenge, I didn’t think ahead about the difficulties that lay ahead.  That would scare me too much.  I just figured I would figure it out along the way and I did.  That was the second time I had to paint in a hotel room and it was quite the adventure (both times).  There have been “frustrating” days, “tired” days, “I want to give up” days, “I want to throw this away “days.  But there have also been, “I feel great” days, “this is looking good” days and “I can’t wait to paint the next one” days.  I always say there is beauty in imperfection.  So let go of perfection and see what MAGIC  you can create by that one act!  Have a spectacular new year and don’t ever let perfection or fear get in the way of anything you desire!!  Dream big, dream on…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

