The BEAUTY of failure

 

DSC04317.jpg

“There are no secrets to success. It is the result of preparation, hard work, and learning from failure.” – Colin Powell

I learned a very big lesson in illustrating a book with an author.  To do my research and educate myself beforehand to know my rights and how to protect my artwork. I should have had a written contract so there was an open line of communication. Well, there was a lot I should have done but failed to do. There is credit for my work in the acknowledgement section in the back of the book but that was not my vision.

I had a vision of my name being on the cover as “Illustrated by: Sheryl Benjy”. But unfortunately, in reality, that did not happen. My mom always asks, “what did you learn from this experience”. I learned so much from this and even though I got burned, I now know what to do if I am faced with this again. That is the beauty of life. We might fail and fail again but we learn through those failures and get right back up to do it again. Success is right around the corner and within our reach, we just need to get past those hurdles.

I am moving on though and I am in the process of illustrating and writing my own children’s book! It will be called Spirit’s Magical Journey. I can’t wait to share it with the world. I don’t think I would have done that had I not gone through this journey. So I thank the author for that and I hope her book is one big success. IT would have been more successful with my name on it but hey, to each his own.

Where have you failed but got right back up? Share your story with me! Would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

