Purpose and Passion

feriOM

A BEAUTIFUL RETREAT FOCUSING ON PURPOSE AND PASSION

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.” – Steve Jobs

Last weekend I was a part of an amazing retreat in Ojai that was started by a good friend and yoga instructor Feri Ebrahimi.  That painting above is a representation of her.  This was our second year leading the retreat.  I can’t tell you how inspired I was to be in the presence of so many wonderful women.  The theme of the retreat was finding your purpose and passion.  I led a life coaching and vision board session as well as an art session.   Yrma Wilson did reiki healing.  Allie Bright led the yoga nidra portion.  There was so much inspiration and healing all in one little weekend.

IMG_5473

All the women left feeling rejuvenated and with big smiles on their faces.  I left realizing that this is why I do what I do.  I also got out of my comfort zone and did something that made me a bit nervous.  I had to talk in front of 20 women about my life story and be vulnerable in front of many people I did not know.  It was my first time leading a life coaching session and it was so invigorating!  I have also led many art classes in front of groups and that has also made me nervous.  Was it perfect, no.  Was it from my heart, yes.  I think that is the key to anything new you ever want to try.  Just be yourself and let it all come from the heart.  If you are afraid of doing something that is out of your comfort zone then that is more reason to go and do it.

I know last year at the retreat when I had to speak in front of all those women I was shaking in my boots.  This year I was better.  It’s about practice and exposure.  I’m not sure where I will be going with my life coaching or with my art.  I do know that I will put my 100% in every opportunity I get.  Now it’s your turn.  What makes you nervous?  Is it speaking in front of large crowds, is it taking up a new class or something so small but you make it seem so much bigger than it is.  Share them with me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

